TOO MUCH STUFF

Ugh…this Spring Cleaning/Simplifying my life thing is really difficult. I’m trying to get rid of all the “stuff” that seems to be suffocating me in my apartment right now. It’s like I have to do it in steps. It’s really hard to part with a large amount of stuff at one time. I’ve done the initial sweep. This includes huge garbage bags of give away clothing, 4 or 5 medium boxes of books, and an additional 4 or 5 medium boxes of randomness. I have a lovely couple coming to pick up my vanity on Friday. I also got rid of all my dvd cases and put my dvds into cd books. I know that that doesn’t sound like much, but the amount of space I’ve saved is kind of remarkable.

This second round is harder. I still have too many clothes. I need to do another sweep and try to part with more. I should go through my books again and even sift through my sheet music. I have a tendency to keep ALL of my sheet music in case I might need it. I think I can safely say that I could probably part with about 1/3 of it. The same goes for any Navy memorabilia or items I have with sentimental value. I am extremely nostalgic, so that is a lot of stuff. I would like to get rid of 1/3 of that too.

Actually 1/3 is a good ratio. At the end of this process I want to have 1/3 less stuff than when I started. I know that’s a lot! I think I can do it though. It’s taking way longer than I thought. I started in late January and we are almost into March. I’m hoping to be finished by Sunday. That’s my goal. Wish me luck! 😮

pban8l-1.jpg

Leave a Reply

