EXPEDIT!

I have two sides to my “making a home” philosophy and they are always at odds with each other. Part of me wants to get rid of as much as I can so that when I get that starring role on Broadway I can pick up and leave without much hassle. 🙂 The other part of me wants to nest and create a comfortable home for myself that doesn’t always feel like it’s in transition. So it’s extremely difficult for me to make decisions as to what to keep or what to buy because of this. An actor’s life can change drastically overnight for better or for worse…and you have to be prepared for it.

In my Spring cleaning and as part of my cure I have pared my book collection down to two narrow bookcases. This was really difficult for me because I adore books. I love them so much! I have such fond memories of every book I own. Well I’ve been through them now 3 or 4 times and I think that I’ve reached a point where I categorically refuse to get rid of anymore books. I’m not getting rid of any of my classics, art books, plays, or poetry. I WON’T DO IT! I’ve already weeded out most of my Anne Rice, Stephen King, or book of the month selections. Everything that I have left inspires me by having it.

Whew! So anyway the vagabond minimalist actress in me always wants me to get rid of more. Well the “nester” in me has always dreamed of a library: floor to ceiling built-in bookshelves, relaxing in a caramel leather club chair parked in front of a roaring hearth with a cup of hot whiskey cider and a fabulous book. Sigh…that’s the stuff that dreams are made of.

Well I can’t afford the hearth or the caramel leather club chair. The book and the whiskey cider…I can handle. The built-ins…not yet, but maybe I can create the look of it with some IKEA! I’m eyeing the expedit shelf system. I know that everyone and their mother has this shelf unit. In my defense, I have wanted a grid-like book shelf system since I saw the one my parents had in the 70s. I had never even heard of an expedit until a couple of days ago. But, YES, I am jumping on the bandwagon. IKEA has a new convert!

httpwwwflickrcomphotos16399967n072329694236.jpg

httpwwwflickrcomphotospinklovesbrown313096647.jpg httpwwwflickrcomphotosthewindingsheet2060128797.jpg

*Now which color do I get to go with my dining room? hmmm….

2 Responses to “EXPEDIT!”

  1. Cecilia Says:

    I followed you over here from the apartmenttherapychicago flickr group and thought I would read up on the progress of your Cure. Congratulations on clearing out so much stuff from your home! I also dream of one day owning a home with floor to ceiling bookshelves, but I just have to make due with what I’ve got now. Look at it this way; when we’re someday able to afford a home with floor to ceiling bookshelves, we’ll be able to afford to buy another copy of all the books we’ve donated.

    I think the third picture would look nice with the look and theme of your dining room if the shelving units are dark wood.

  2. harmonyfrance Says:

    Thanks for the encouragement! I’m leaning toward the dark one too! I want to see what they look like in person before I decide. I hope that your cure is going well too!

Leave a Reply

