JUST SAY NO

I came home to St. Louis for a break from some of my Chicago madness. This is the longest I’ve been home in 10 years. I’m really enjoying it, but so are my parents. They are so pleased to have me home and they are spoiling me rotten. Now I’m certainly not complaining. I like being catered to and spoiled a little. BUT I can’t take any more stuff into my apartment!

My mother is a bargain hunter. One of the best I’ve ever seen, especially when it comes to clothes. The first thing she showed me when I got home was a SUITCASE full of clothes that she had gotten for me. She spent under $150 for the entire suitcase. Everything was actually really nice quality and fit me really well. BUT now I’m going to have to go home and get RID of an equal amount of clothing. I can’t bring more items into my wardrobe without getting rid of more clothes…I just can’t. I’m trying to streamline!

I also got a beautifully illistrated copy of Peter Pan and a hard-backed version of Great Expectations. Two of my favorite books. 🙂 I scored a dresser/sideboard for my entryway/landing strip, a new rug, some organizing containers, a mirror, and this GORGEOUS hot pink poppy fabric that my mother is making into two accent pillows for my couch. I had planned on doing it myself, but she insisted.

The thing I’m struggling with is I feel really guilty about getting this stuff.  So far it’s all things that will be used and/or replace something I have, but I can’t help but feel guilty anyway. Also this sounds like a lot of stuff, but it’s NOTHING compared to what I’ve turned down. Every couple of hours I’m turning my mom down on something else that she’s asking me if I want. I’m beginning to see where some of my habits are coming from. My parent’s home is comfortable, nurturing, and wonderful…but it’s spilling over with things. It seems to work for them, but I don’t want to live like that. I want my place to be organized, peaceful, and much simpler than it is now. I want it to be a refuge.

BUT at the same time I can’t let myself feel guilty any time I bring something into the apartment. I just need to learn to manage my home better. When I get new things, that’s wonderful, but it means that it is time to let some of the old things go. I think I’ll feel better when I get everything home to Chicago and have a proportionate amount of things in my giveaway/outbox pile.

So the moral of the story is we don’t have to feel guilty about bringing new things into our homes, but sometimes we have to JUST SAY NO!

justsayno1.jpg
Leave a Reply

