Living Room Style Tray

As I told CQ on my last post, my new goal is to make every room in my apartment look as good as my Dining Room does. Or maybe a better way to put it is…make every room in my apartment make me FEEL as good as my Dining Room does. The next big question mark is my Living Room. I know that I’ve posted color schemes and ideas on here before, but I’m not completely sold on anything. The cure suggests that we do “style trays” for inspiration. I’ve never followed this particular suggestion of the book, because I’ve always known exactly what I want to do. With the Living Room, however, I’m at a loss. So here it is…my Living Room style tray!

I’ve been toying with the idea of doing a deep red accent wall behind my couch. I love the idea of using a wallpaper with deep red in it instead of painting an entire wall one color.

Space above couch option #1: What to put above my couch or on a really long wall expanse always stresses me out. I like the results, but hate the actual act of hanging art or mirrors on the wall. It’s hard to get the scale right and my walls are impossible. (I have drywall over brick). I love this picture ledge. Instead of having to commit to one arrangement that I think is perfect (this never happens), I can change what I have displayed at will and won’t have to spackle up dozens of holes each time. I also like that you can display other items on it as well. It creates a mantlepiece look…which I love! AND I think that it would work with the wallpaper or the red wall.

Space above couch option #2: The other option I’ve come up with is to go ahead and paint the wall red, but do away with framed artwork and have some sort of nature inspired wall decals up and maybe one mirror instead. This would keep the look much simpler. I also wouldn’t have to hang shelves. πŸ˜‰

Space above couch option #3: Alright call me crazy, but I kind of love this. I love the defiance of it. I love that it says, “No! I will not obsess for hours, months, or even years on the perfect arrangement for above my couch!” That gorgeous panel, the bright pillows, and the lamp take center stage instead. Of course this is a nice muted sage green and not a deep red. I might need to break up the red. I don’t know! I need some advice. What do you guys think?

Because of my crumbly horrible walls, I am always looking for alternative methods for displaying art. I am a big fan of just leaning art against the wall. I know that it looks less formal, but it’s also much less of a headache. I also adore this idea. I bought an easel at IKEA for 10 bucks. I’m going to paint it and I already know exactly what piece of art I’m going to display on it! (This gorgeous painting is by Celeste Vaught.)

This is the sister of my Stainless Steel Curio that I have in my Dining Room. I love these pieces so much. Believe it or not I got them both for free from dumpster diving at a Navy base I was stationed at in West Virginia. They are vintage medical cabinets from the fifties I believe. They weigh a ton, but I absolutely love them. Right now the hutch is living in the hallway as my landing strip, but it’s not working for me. It’s a huge piece and it’s overpowering my hallway. I think that I’m going to move it into the Living Room. I have the top portion set up as a bar and the bottom portion is great for storage.

My Living Room has a doorway, but no door. My Dining Room actually does too…AND my kitchen. πŸ™‚ I plan to utilize this curtain idea all over my apartment. My roommate is 6ft though, so I’m going to have to hang them from the ceiling instead of the top of the doorway.

This is pretty close to the red that I want, and that splotch on the opposite wall is pretty close to the color I already have and will have on the other three walls.

*That’s it! I would LOVE a new couch, desk, side chairs, coffee table, etc….but I can’t afford it. So the ones I have will do for now. The hardest part of this room is going to be the setup. It’s a long and narrow room. One wall is almost completely taken up with a doorway, a closet doorway, and a radiator. One of the narrower walls is all windows that I don’t want to cover up. I have an idea of how to rearrange the furniture that will hopefully work out.

7 Responses to “Living Room Style Tray”

  1. Alana in Canada Says:

    Yes, let’s see a floorplan next!

    As for shelves above the sofa–that can get tricky–you don’t want folks to bonk their heads when they sit down–which definitely looks like a hazard in the inspiration photo. I think a wall decal is a fabulous way to go!

    About the portieres (curtains across the doorways)–are you sure? They may end up looking a bit fussy. Then again…with a steel cabinet they just may look very cool.

    What does your furniture look like?

    These sound like great plans–but don’t bite off too much. Doing the wall and figuring out a floor plan will be a huge change!

  2. harmonyfrance Says:

    Hahaha I actually have been working on a floorplan all day. I’ll add it to the post as soon as I can get my photoshop to work. πŸ™‚

    That’s what I was thinking!…That the curtain would soften up the steel cabinet and the red. I’m going to drape some material for now and see if I like it before I commit to sewing anything. πŸ™‚

    My furniture is very basic. I have a BIG 7 ft khaki tan couch, a solid wood rectangle coffee table, two end tables, and a big horrible desk that my roommate and I bought for a play that we did and then inherited it. The furniture will do for now. It’s all very neutral, so I can do just about anything I want color-wise.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/harmonyfrance/2345952315/

    Here are some new throw pillows for the couch.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/harmonyfrance/2377674437/

    I’ll have the floorplan up soon!

  3. Alana in Canada Says:

    I can see why you long for colour!
    You’ve already got a good deal of artwork above the couch–can you just arrange it so that the outer frames make up a big rectangle and call it done? Though I certainly sympathize with the drilling dilemna. We have plaster–so once you’ve made a hole, it sort of there forever (until you spackle and paint!)

  4. Celeste Vaught Says:

    Glad you liked my painting “Aspen”, so does it’s owner who purchased it at an outdoor art show calling it “The best of the Show”…that was the thrill of the day for me.

  5. harmonyfrance Says:

    It’s absolutely gorgeous Celeste! Congratulations on selling it and thank you for the inspiration!

  6. CQ in DC Says:

    I love that steel cabinet! The floorplan looks good- can’t wait to see pictures of the new space…

  7. harmonyfrance Says:

    Soon…soon! It’s going to be a tight finish, but I should have some decent pictures up by the end of this week CQ. πŸ™‚ My full vision won’t be realized until I can afford it though. It gives me something to do for the fall cure!

Leave a Reply

