Fashion-Inspired Decorating

I found this article at Country Living today. I go to Country Living when I get tired of the never-ending mid-century modern look. Don’t get me wrong I love that look, I just crave variety every once in a while. 🙂 Anyway, this is a house tour of Annette Tatum, owner of House, a store in Santa Monica.

“Everything you need for stylish interiors is hanging in your closet.”

This is her philosophy and she carries it into her own home.

Her Living Room was inspired by a pink prom dress!

This dress:

Inspired this outdoor space (DROOL):

This Dress:

Inspired this dreamy Guest Bedroom:

Clearly this woman has insanely flawless taste, but I think her philosophy can be used by anyone. I finally found my muse for my living room and after I read this article I looked in my closet and saw that my clothes are the same bright happy colors that are in my inspiration fabric. If I had read this article four months ago my life would’ve been much easier! 😉

5 Responses to “Fashion-Inspired Decorating”

  1. Melissa A. Says:

    I have some old band t-shirts I want to cut up and frame. Does that count? Just to add to the long list of decorating projects I have 😛

  2. harmonyfrance Says:

    Of course it counts! I think the whole point is that inspiration can come from anywhere. You never know where your muse is going to be lurking. I love that idea! I love unconventional art. 🙂

  3. Alana in Canada Says:

    Good for you. And though I have heard the idea–I’ve never seen it executed before. How much fun do you imagine that woman has every day? Creating rooms out of pretty dresses–that’s wonderful!

  4. parisapartment Says:

    Beautiful dresses and stunning rooms! I could think of so many variations of rooms for each dress, they’re so inspiring!

  5. harmonyfrance Says:

    alana…I know! What a cool job! I’m really jealous. The only job that is superior in my mind is that woman on the travel channel that “tries out” hotels and spas. THAT’S the job that I want!

    parisapartment…I agree. I saw these pictures and I just started salivating. How lush and beautiful!

Leave a Reply

