Cleaning out my Closet!

You know how after a period of depression or whatever you want to call it, one day you wake up and things are better? The problems may not have gone away, but all of a sudden you feel like you can handle them. There is no rhyme or reason to this. All of a sudden your problems don’t seem quite as big as they used to. Well that’s how I feel this weekend.

I woke up yesterday not only with a better attitude, but with a plan for making my life more manageable. That plan starts with my surroundings. I am ashamed to say that I had let my apartment get pretty bad. So bad that when my landlord unexpectedly showed up (he does that a lot…sigh) to check my wiring, I sort of flipped out. I locked myself in the bathroom and cried. I was so ashamed that someone had seen this awful mess.

I don’t even remember how it got as bad as it did. Gradually I suppose. I went through a time of being extremely busy directly into a time of feeling pretty low. My apartment certainly suffered with me.

Okay sob story is over! My point is I woke up yesterday ready to reclaim my life AND my apartment. I started with my closet because I was so inspired by that House Beautiful article. Well I did it! I organized my closet. This may not sound very exciting to some, but let me tell you that thing was so messy and full that I was afraid to open it. So anyway, it’s a small step. I still have lost to do, but it doesn’t seem as hard as it did a couple weeks ago. The new year has me feeling extremely optimistic. I hope that you are feeling the same.

Hard to see. But it's organized into bags, tops, pants, skirts, casual dresses, cocktail dresses, formals, wraps, and coats. I need to thin it down, but at least now I can see what I have in order to make the choices of what to get rid of. I also need to invest in wooden hangers!

Hard to see. But it's organized into bags, tops, pants, skirts, casual dresses, cocktail dresses, formals, wraps, and coats. I need to thin it down, but at least now I can see what I have in order to make the choices of what to get rid of. I also need to invest in wooden hangers!

Most of this I'm probably going to end up giving away. It's puzzles, board games, art supplies, and videos. That's right! Good old fashioned VHS tapes. The hampers are full of fabric remnants and yet-to-be-finished craft projects. Much of this will be SHED.

Most of this I'm probably going to end up giving away. It's puzzles, board games, art supplies, and videos. That's right! Good old fashioned VHS tapes. The hampers are full of fabric remnants and yet-to-be-finished craft projects. Much of this will be SHED.

If you want to see a REALLY AMAZING closet check out Nicole’s Closet at Making it Lovely! I refuse to post pictures because they are just TOO good and I’d like to be proud of my little achievement. But seriously go check it out!!!  🙂

2 Responses to “Cleaning out my Closet!”

  1. dreebie Says:

    Harmony! If you don’t want that sewing machine, I will TOTALLY take it.
    xoxo

  2. harmonyfrance Says:

    Hey dree! Unfortunately the sewing machine is one of the things I’m actually keeping. I plan on upgrading though…and when I do it’s yours! I hope that you’re well sweetheart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

